Twelve Days of Yoga: On the 7th Day

“On the 7th day of yoga, my guru gave to me…

7 chakras tuning
6 heavy breathers
5 minute peace

4 flying crows
3 om’ing om oms
2 turtle poses
and a Hanuman in a coconut tree.

The Sanskrit word “chakra” means wheel or disk that symbolizes one of seven basic energy centers in the body in which energy flows through.  Each of these centers correlates to major nerves branching forth from the spinal column.  Each point also correlates to levels of consciousness, emotional states, colors, body functions and much more.

Since chakras are like power stations of our energy, it’s wise to keep these centers tuned and in balance and working in harmony.   Chakras absorb energy that we encounter in our lives such as from our thoughts, feelings, the outside environment and people we meet. Our body is affected by the quality of the energy that passes through these chakras.  For example, if we harbor negative feelings, we will be filtering negative energy through our chakras and into our body.  Over time this can make our body ill.   There are many different ways to tune your chakras.  There are too many to discuss in this short blog, but do some research, ask your teacher, and explore the many books available out there.

Here is a brief description of each chakra, their colors, symbols and what they represent, starting from the top:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *